My TBR pile

A year ago I had about 30 books on my tbr pile, most of them I also had physical copies of. But then I started watching BookTube. They talked about books and a lot of new books I’d never heard about. This made me want to read a lot more. At the moment my Goodreads to-read shelf is 91 book long.


Here are 5 of the books on my tbr-list I look most forward to reading (if you want to see my whole tbr list CLICK HERE).

The Novice by Taran Matharu22718814

I remember I’d seen this as a recommendation on Goodreads when it came out, but it wasn’t until this spring one BookTuber (I don’t remember which) talked about it that I put it on my Goodreads tbr-shelf. It also fell into my shopping basket a month ago and now a physical copy is standing on my shelf, waiting. My plan is to read it in august, when I have a few work-free weeks.

“When blacksmith apprentice Fletcher discovers that he has the ability to summon demons from another world, he travels to Adept Military Academy. There the gifted are trained in the art of summoning. Fletcher is put through grueling training as a battlemage to fight in the Hominum Empire’s war against orcs. He must tread carefully while training alongside children of powerful nobles. The power hungry, those seeking alliances, and the fear of betrayal surround him. Fletcher finds himself caught in the middle of powerful forces, with only his demon Ignatius for help.

As the pieces on the board maneuver for supremacy, Fletcher must decide where his loyalties lie. The fate of an empire is in his hands. The Novice is the first in a trilogy about Fletcher, his demon Ignatius, and the war against the Orcs.”

– Goodreads

Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan15790883

When Goodreads recommended this to me and I read the synopsis I got really strong Kingkiller Chronicles vibes. It seems filled with epicness and seems to be more grown up than what Kvothe (Kingkiller Chronicles) has gone through this far. This series will begin with a struggle and go downhill from there. I just hope it lives up to my expectations.

“The Age of Kings is dead . . . and I have killed it.

It’s a bloody business overthrowing a king…
Field Marshal Tamas’ coup against his king sent corrupt aristocrats to the guillotine and brought bread to the starving. But it also provoked war with the Nine Nations, internal attacks by royalist fanatics, and the greedy to scramble for money and power by Tamas’s supposed allies: the Church, workers unions, and mercenary forces.

Stretched to his limit, Tamas is relying heavily on his few remaining powder mages, including the embittered Taniel, a brilliant marksman who also happens to be his estranged son, and Adamat, a retired police inspector whose loyalty is being tested by blackmail.

But when gods are involved…
Now, as attacks batter them from within and without, the credulous are whispering about omens of death and destruction. Just old peasant legends about the gods waking to walk the earth. No modern educated man believes that sort of thing. But they should…”

– Goodreads

23443135Demonologi för nybörjare by Caroline L. Jensen

Demonology for beginners, the title intrigued me from the beginning. Then I read the synopsis and this sounds amazing! Humour and fantasy mixed up in a strange adventure. I’m not even sure if this is for children or adults, but it sounds awesome.

Translated synopsis:

Isak Björkhage’s got a problem. A underworldly problem. In Heaven God seems to have hit the wall and in Hell Beelzebub’s planning to overthrow Satan and is threatening to release Hell’s demons onto Earth.

All this Isak is unaware of as he’s taking care of his mother and sister Thea – he’s a IT-guy, plummer, dog-walker, cleaner and nanny. At the same time he’s trying to do his job as a janitor at his old school. But when Beatrice, the omniscient rat living at the neighbour’s, explains to Isak that he alone can stop the Apocalypse, he’s forced on a journey through Hell’s nine levels to meet Satan.

On a journey like that it’s good to have a close friend and satanist – Rufus – with you.

2986865EON: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman

I saw the spine of this book in one of Katytastic‘s videos. And if a spine can sell a book then it’s great work by the publishers. This duology wouldn’t take to long to read and it’s high up on my list. I think I even saved it in my basket last time I bought books, but didn’t buy it.

“Twelve-year-old Eon has been in training for years. His intensive study of Dragon Magic, based on East Asian astrology, involves two kinds of skills: sword-work and magical aptitude. He and his master hope that he will be chosen as a Dragoneye–an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune.

But Eon has a dangerous secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been masquerading as a boy for the chance to become a Dragoneye. Females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic; if anyone discovers she has been hiding in plain sight, her death is assured.

When Eon’s secret threatens to come to light, she and her allies are plunged into grave danger and a deadly struggle for the Imperial throne. Eon must find the strength and inner power to battle those who want to take her magic…and her life.”

– Goodreads

24807756Odinsbarn by Siri Pettersen

Ever since I took two courses of Nordic folklore at University I’ve wanted to read more books where inspiration comes from the Nordic folklore. The story in this book takes place in Norway, in present day, but there are creatures of old. Sadly this book isn’t translated into English, but it has a 4,3 star rating on Goodreads so I can’t wait to read it!

Translated synopsis:

Hirka is fifteen winters old when she’s told she’s an Odinsbarn (eng: Odin’s child) – a tailless beast from another world spreading decay. Her whole life is turned upside down. She’s become despised, fared and hunted, and somebody wants to kill her to keep her identity a secret. But there are worse things than Odinsbarn, and Hirka isn’t the only creature who’s travelled to this world…


There they were, five books from my tbr pile. Have you read any of them? Tell your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

