This or That Book Tag

Thank you so much Lair of Books for tagging me! I’m almost struggling to get this up as soon as possible as well as not posting all of my posts on the same day. But now it’s up and running! *proud of myself*

You should check her blog out, such great writing. Here are a few things from there:

Did you check her out? I hope you did! Then you also should check out the creator of this tag, Ayunda from Tea And Paperbacks. Done it? Because now it’s time for me to begin with The Rules.

  • Mention the creator of the tag.
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you!
  • Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.
  • Tag (10) other people to do this tag to spread the love!

Reading on the couch or in the bed?

What a difficult start! I usually read in the bed, since I have more reading time in the evenings, but I love the couch also.

Male main character or Female main character?

It honestly doesn’t matter. I think male characters often are better written, but that might be because they have been more common (at least in fantasy) so you do not stumble across the poorly written as often. And I have to say I love how female characters have boomed in the YA genre (even though some of them are a bit…not so good). My conclusion is that gender doesn’t matter as long as the main thing well written. 

Sweet Snacks Or Salty Snacks?

Salty. I don’t like candy (but love chocolate) so I don’t want that. Potato chips are my favourite thing!

Trilogies Or Quartets?

Jeez…not making this easy are we? Trilogies maybe. It just feels like there are a lot more great trilogies out there than quartets. “Trilogy” also sounds more epic (might be because of LOTR).

First Person POV Or Third Person POV?

Third person. Definitely. I’m not a huge fan of first person, but I’ve gotten used to it.

Reading At Night Or In The Morning?

At night. If I pick up a book when I wake up I’ll go to sleep again. But in the evening, no problem staying awake! There have been occasions when I’ve read until 5 a.m.

Libraries Or Bookstores?

Libraries. The amount of books is amazing! And free books^^ Sadly the English section is way too small in Finland, which has resulted in me spending more time in bookstores. I’ll be moving to an almost completely Finnish-speaking city in a week, so the Swedish section will be non-existent… It’s been so great living in a part of Finland where both languages are equally used.

long_room_interior_trinity_college_dublin_ireland_-_diliff
The Long Room in Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland [Wikipedia]

Books That Make You Laugh Or Books That Make You Cry?

I think cry. Because that definitely requires more of the story and the author. If I cry while reading I know it’s an incredible book. Here are a few books that made me cry: Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind. The tears! Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and Dragons of Spring Dawning also made me shed tears.

Black Book Covers Or White Book Covers?

Black. The colour of my life. I’m in love with dark colours, they are so much more amazing than pastels or white (no offence, just personal preference).

Character Driven Or Plot Driven Stories?

Character driven any day. I think that’s what Mistborn was missing as well as the first book in Game of Thrones. With Mistborn the story and the minor characters were interesting enough for me to continue reading, but Vin… She was so boring in the first and third book. I know a lot of people love her, but I just found her annoying and boring a lot of the time. Game of Thrones, I gave up after four episodes and one book.

Love that a lot of YA is character driven! (I couldn’t end on a bad note 😛 )


YOU GOT TAGGED:

Closet Readers

chloesbooksblog

A Pretty Wonderful Book

Book Huntress (Alyssa)

mayathebookexplorer

The Loner and His Books

bookdragonsite

Kernel of Nonsense

Nerdy Is Beautiful

Songs Wrote My Story


I liked this tag. It was a fast one since it was “either or” and not find a book. I do love the ones with books, it’s just that they take so much longer to write.

Nominees, please link your posts in the comments! Then it’s easier to find them 😀

24 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag

  1. Pingback: This or That Book Tag – Songs Wrote My Story

  2. Pingback: This or That Book Tag

  3. Pingback: This Or That Book Tag – a pretty wonderful book

  4. Hey there! just testing my commenting out here. I left you 2 lengthy comments earlier today but I was having issues on my blog. My comments can be found in your spam folder, if you mark them “Not Spam” they will appear here under this post. Thank you so much for the lovely mention! I loved your answers! 🙂

    Like

  5. Hello there! it seems my previous lengthy message was sent to your spam folder, if you approve it then it will show up here under your comments. I was having technical difficulties commenting on blogs since Sunday, but just got an e-mail stating it has been fixed. Thank you again for the lovely mention, my previous comment in your spam is way more interesting lol.

    Like

  6. OMG!!!! Thank you for that wonderful mention! I’ve been pretty caught up in my issues with comments that I leave on blogs…going into bloggers spam folders that I’m just getting to this EPIC post! Love your answers! I didn’t even think about how often I do have potato chips when I’m reading lol. I will steel myself for Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind, I’ve had it on my shelves for way too long but I think that’s because I had been told that the author had no plans or definitive date for the next books in the series. I LOVE Fantasy but it is a commitment & I hat ebeing let down by authors who have their fans waiting for years for new material (*coughs* George RR Martin).

    Cheers for YA being character driven because I agree, Mistborn’s VIN bored me to death & I’m only on book 2 LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t tell you how happy I am to finally find someone who was also bored with Vin. I think her strongest book is the second. In the third, the minor characters begun to shine bright and I just waited for those chapters following them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh good cuz I’m starting the 2nd book soon to catch up to my husband & Vin is the reason I haven’t 😂😂😂 honestly, the cast of characters is what makes that series but Vin has no depth. I’ll be looking forward to the third especially now that I know, love the minor characters 💕

        Like

      2. I think Sazed was my favourite character in the second, or OreSeur. Vin and Elend was at their best but they never became my favourites. Not going to say who my favourite was in the third, it might be a mild spoiler 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I like library books too. I Recently borrowed some books and they looked brand new. I guess they may have just bought it since these are the recently hyped books haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

