The Eye of the World

The Eye of the WorldThe Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This took me way too long to finish. But now I’ve read it!

I didn’t know anything about this story (other than that there are 14 books in the series) before my boyfriend recommended it and I begun reading.

The story follows three young men who’s village is attacked by trollocs. They find out that the trollocs’ master, the Dark One – a primal force – is after them and they have to flee together with two strangers and an other villager. They weren’t prepared for the journey ahead.

I love that the story is very J.R.R. Tolkien – a huge world filled with different creatures and a lot of history – but the main characters, they didn’t deliver. Halfway through the book some of the characters finally became interesting (Perrin became my favourite). For others, the final chapters did something for them and a few I still don’t care about. But if you are a reader who loves epic story lines this is definitely up your alley. The story is huge! (As I sad, 14 books…) I just want more from-the-start-interesting characters.

So the reasons for the low rating are the characters (how boring they were in the beginning) and the fact that I had higher expectations. I honestly thought I’d love this book. But 3 stars, I liked it.


“The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.”

– Goodreads


BookDepository | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “The Eye of the World

Leave a Reply

