Book Recommendation – Dragons

The first blog post I did was Book Recommendation – Assassins and I thought now is the time for another Book Recommendation post. This time I chose Dragons as the theme, since they are my favourite mythical creatures. No matter if they’re animals, thinking beings, good or bad, I love them!


259836Dragons of Autumn Twilight by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

It would be wrong to not kick off this post with the Dragaonlance Chronicles. The trilogy is seen as somewhat of a  classic in the fantasy genre and if I remember right it’s inspired by D&D. If you are like me and love high fantasy, this will be straight up your alley.

The story follows a company of eight – a half-elf, a dwarf, a kender, a wizard and four humans – and how they are thrown into a fight they didn’t ask for. Despite their differences they travel across Krynn, trying to stay alive, while humans and gods fight for power.

5907The Hobbit : or there and back again by J.R.R. Tolkien

Another classic with a dragon, I think most have read it already, but if you haven’t, do it! The Hobbit is a great introduction to the world of Tolkien and the book of his I’ve read most. It isn’t as complex as LOTR but as beautiful. The movies didn’t make it justice.

It’s been a few years since I read it last, so I should pick it up again. I’d like to reread every book on my shelves, maybe that should be my next year reading goal? I’d fail miserably. I own more books than I’d be able to read in a year. I’ve been thinking about counting them or doing a bookshelf tour. Maybe both…

100464Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke

I read this so long ago, but what I remember is that I loved it. It is a magical children’s adventure where you meet all kinds of creatures. The ones I remember are the dragon, the cat-like one, the jinn and the basilisk. I don’t remember much about the story, but the fondness I have for this book have to mean it was great!

If the author sounds familiar it is because she wrote Inkheart. I still have to read that series…

15728655Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Yes, the cover isn’t the from any of the English editions. I just love the covers from the Swedish hardbacks! I’ve been thinking about participating in the Which Cover Wednesday just to show them off! Just look at it, it doesn’t look like a book cover, it’s like a painting.

Time to stop adoring the cover. You’ve probably heard of this, it was kind of a huge deal e few years back. The movie wasn’t anything for the Christmas three but the books. High fantasy (again) through and through. A farm boy, Eragon, finds a dragon egg in the woods and his life is changed forever. I don’t think it brought anything new to the genre, but not every book has to.

Did you know we might get a fifth book? CLICK HERE to see what Christopher Paolini has to say!

8600710Tam Tiggarpojken (eng. Tam the Beggar Boy) by Jo Salmson

Sadly this book only exists in three languages (according to Goodreads) – Swedish, Finnish and Norwegian – but I wanted to mention it anyway.

It tells the story of Tam, a 12 year old boy living as a beggar in the world’s greatest city. Every evening he sits on the wall, waiting for the dragons to come home. The sight is spectacular, the eight beasts and their riders. But one night something is wrong, Bleke, the oldest of the dragons, has fallen ill. Tam is also beginning to hear voices in his head. Time fore change is just around the corner.


I like doing recommendations, the hardest part is coming up with the theme. Have you read any of these books? What do you think of dragons?

Would a bookshelf tour be interesting? I’d do it as a video.

4 thoughts on “Book Recommendation – Dragons

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award – a word about books

  2. Tammy @ a word about books

    I absolutely loved Dragon Rider (I read the original German version) and it was one of my favorites when I was a child! I am also always fascinated whenever dragons are a part of a book – I absolutely LOVE them!

    Like

  3. Another great dragon book is A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin. The dragon in that book really reminds me of the one in The Hobbit. And now I’m off to check out your assassin post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

