October 2016 TBR

This month I’m participating in the Overlooked Genre challenge hosted by Closet Readers. This means I will read books that are a bit out of my comfort zone. A month without fantasy…how will I survive?


The Book of the Unnamed Midwife

The Book of the Unnamed Midwife by Meg Elison

This is a science fiction, post-apocalyptic story about a world where a fewer kills mothers and children and makes childbirth deadly. The few women who survive are sought after by tribes of men, who in fear seek control over them.

The synopsis intrigued me so I requested an ARC from NetGalley and was lucky enough to receive it.

The Selfish GeneThe Selfish Gene by Richard Dawkins

My boyfrined have recommended this to me many times, and I’ve become really interested int his book. It is a complete non-fiction and definitely something I usually don’t read. Well, I did read The Sixth Extincion: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert this year so maybe I can start counting non-fiction as a genre I like as well.

So in this book, if I’ve understood the synopsis right, Richard Dawkins explains his theories (I’d be surprised if they were just hypotheses) about how animals, and humans, care most about themselves. But he will also take a closer look on the altruism, selflessness, that definitely occurs.

I’m hoping for an interesting and educational read.

A Space Between Worlds Vol.1: Conception

A Space Between Worlds Vol.1: Conception by J.D. Woodson

I am still not a hundred percent sure I know what this book is about, but I’ve gotten really intrigued by it over the past few months. And at least it’s not classic fantasy. For this book I was lucky enough to be part of the Cover Reveal. Again a huge thank you to Royal James Publishing for letting me be part of it!

Hopefully I’ll have time to read and review this book this month!

The last book I’m going to read this month is one that has been on multiple TBRs. I am ashamed. But I will finish it and the book after before this year is over!

The Great HuntThe Great Hunt by Robert Jordan

How will I eve be able to explain why I haven’t finished this yet? It intimidates me. I want to finish it! The characters are so much more interesting than in the first book and the world is becoming more intriguing as well. If I haven’t finished this before November it will  be the only book on my TBR.

This book is not part of the Overlooked Genre Book Challenge.

7 thoughts on “October 2016 TBR

Leave a Reply

