NaNoWriMo 2016

If you’ve never heard about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) be prepared to be amazed. It is a month long event taking place every November. The purpose is to motivate writers all over the world and how they do it is by challenging people.

50 000 words in 30 days.

Difficult you say? Yes, otherwise it wouldn’t be a challenge. And with November just around the corner so it is time to start thinking of a story.
I had planned to participate last year but didn’t have the time. So new try this year!

NaNoWriMo

How do I prepare?
  1. Firstly, I have to breakdown the 50 000 words. It is such a huge amount you just feel overwhelmed.
    • 50 000 words in 30 days = 1667 words a day
    • 1667 words (Calibri, size 11) = 3 pages
  2. Then I have to plan my story. Otherwise I won’t get anything written. There are of course people who can just sit down and start. But me, no. Planning is wort gold.
    • Bullet point the important events
    • Divide into chapters
    • Add more bullet points under each chapter

If anyone want to join me in this log in to NaNoWriMo’s webpage and add your own novel! Maybe we could become writing buddies?

If you want to know more about how it works CLICK HERE.

51 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2016 – Conclusion – A book lovers corner

  2. Good luck to you tackling NaNoWriMo. I’ve never joined in, or written a novel, but it sounds like you have your work cut out for you trying to get down your fifty-thousand words. Hope they turn out to be the novel you believed you could write. Have fun.

    Like

      1. I am getting to the time I should write something more, but the fifteen hundred words I wrote already, not part of a novel, nothing special, I sent in to my grumpy editor. I admire the novelists, though, as books have a special meaning everytime. Good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, I gotta ask- do you mean 20000? I caught up yesterday, managed to get around 4000 words written. My boyfriend and I are going to a writing fair today, so i wanted to be a day ahead as I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to get done today.. Happy nano-ing πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Meh.. do you have google docs? Just cause if you have a smart phone you can get it and then you can write anywhere.. and we’re not yet half way through yet so you have loads of time to catch up. YOU CAN DO IT!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: November 2016 TBR – A book lovers corner

  4. It’s great you’re thinking of the planning part–a lot of people don’t and I think that’s where they veer off track with NaNoWriMo and give up. I use notecards to get down ideas for scenes ahead of time, and if I can’t figure out what to write next, I jump to one of my notecard scenes and piece it all together as I go. Good luck doing Nano!

    And to Closetreaders, NaNo is such a perfect venue for the unexperienced writer! Getting out the first words onto the paper in even a half finished draft is experience you can build on over time! Hope you take a shot!

    Like

    1. Thank you^^ What I’ve realised since I drew up the draft of the plot is that I wanted to change the beginning. And now, since I’ve written the first 1667 words I want to expand the beginning even more. But that is something for later. No it is just about getting the whole story down.

      Note cards are a really good idea! I will have to start doing that as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: October 2016 Wrap Up – A book lovers corner

  6. mayannesdiary

    Hi! I just discovered Nanowrimo this year and I am excited to participate. I am goinghome over there and I would love to have a few buddies1

    Like

  7. Good luck with Nano, you can do it. It is an amazing experience, one that will tell you a lot about yourself.
    That large amount of words in a short time frame will quickly flesh out your own internal writing process, you won’t have time to edit in between.
    You may realise that you wirk we’ll to a deadline or not.
    You will have to be prepared for the long haul, sometimes you may find yourself unable to get away from the keyboard, your fingers typing away furiously. That I think is the best feeling.
    This will be my third year doing NaNo and hopefully a third win.
    I wish you all the best and hope that you can finish NaNo! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Celebrating the Little Things – A book lovers corner

      1. Tammy @ a word about books

        Well I really don’t think I’m confident enough for this, but I’m looking at their website right now to get some more information…. who knows, I might just try πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

