Merlin Watch Along: S01E01 – The Dragon’s Call

The review of this episode was first posted on Ampersand Princess’ blog, which does not exist anymore. However, here is my part of the review:


Cassiopeia

I love the first episode! It is so innocent and the humour exactly what I want it to be. I remember when I saw it for the first time, I didn’t know anything about the Arthurian Legends but I fell, head over heals, for the characters and the humour.

Bildresultat för merlin the dragon's call
Merlin arriving in Camelot

This episodes tells us about Merlin arriving in Camelot. For a young boy with magic it is a struggle, since magic is outlawed and punishable by death. However, he gets a mentor and soon learns he has a great destiny – to make sure the obnoxious prince Arthur becomes the foretold Once and Future King. And so the story begins.

Merlin: How long have you been training to be a prat?
Arthur: You can’t address me like that.
Merlin: Sorry. How long have you been training to be a prat – my lord?

Relaterad bild
Arthur’s and Merlin’s first meeting

As with every first episode of every TV-show there’s been, the main point of it is to introduce the main characters and the feel the show will have. As I already mentioned I fell for the humour. It is innocent and wonderful, and leaves you with a really good feeling. You get introduced to Merlin and also a brief introduction to all of the other main characters (Arthur, Morgana, Uther, Guinevere, Gaius). There is only so much you can do in 45 minutes.

This is a great first episode and I promise you, it will only get better.


PREVIOUSLY

Introduction

Leave a Reply

