The Great Hunt

The Great Hunt

The Great Hunt by Robert Jordan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was so much better than the first one!

Without spoilers (since this is the second book in The Wheel of Time), everything in this book was better. The characters were more interesting, the plot stronger, the world more layered. So if you are as me and didn’t feel it after the first book, give the second one a chance. Thankfully I have a wonderful boyfriend who told me I had to read this because it is one of the greatest series in the history of fantasy literature.

The story picks up a few weeks after the end of the first book and the characters are well rested after their first-book-journey. It seems like they all will head their separate ways, but the Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills, all is part of the Pattern, especially for ta’veren. Everything is changing.

About the characters; Rand had grown a lot during the few weeks between the books, and I actually found him interesting. This is a relief since he is the main(est) character. Perrin I fell for already in the last book and I want more of him. Mat is still a bit annoying, but that might get fixed in the next book. Nynaeve, badass, love her! Egwene is okay, nothing exceptionally special. Moiraine didn’t play as big a role in this book and the same goes for Lan.

I want to keep this spoiler free, but there is so many spoilers I’d love to talk about! However, pick up this book. I thought I’d die in the end, it became way too good. 12 more books to go until the final battle!


“The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow. For centuries, gleemen have told of The Great Hunt of the Horn. Now the Horn itself is found: the Horn of Valere long thought only legend, the Horn which will raise the dead heroes of the ages.

And it is stolen.”

– Goodreads

Goodreads | BookDepository

8 thoughts on “The Great Hunt

  1. I haven’t read this series yet, and have heard mixed things about it. Some say it’s wonderful, but one of my really good friends who loves fantasy told me that it wasn’t worth the time, so I’ve been putting it off. Your review has inspired me to give the first book a chance! I’m a bit intimidated because the series is so long!

    Like

  2. The Great Hunt is my second favorite book of the series. The fourth book, The Shadow Rising, is my favorite and I still get choked up when I think about one part in it. I’ve read the entire series…sadly the narrative slows down, way down, after book 5, and it can be hard to stick with it at times. In my opinion Books 6-8 could have and should have been condensed into one book, and some of the later ones also drag too much as well. Nevertheless, the story is great, and the characters are awesome. I have read all 14 books, and thought Brandon Sanderson did a wonderful job finishing the series after Jordan’s death.

    Nyneave was my favorite character for the first half of the series (then, much to my annoyance, she becomes more of a supporting than a main player). 🙂 I agree Matt was super annoying in the early books but by the end he became my favorite.

    Like

    1. Can’t wait to reach book four now 😀 And yes, I’ve heard that the middle is very slow but that the ending is worth it. Sad to hear about Nynaeve. She’s so awesome at the moment! And the ending of this book, I just fell head over heels for her.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know. She was SOOO kickass in the early books. I met Robert Jordan at a book signing way back in the 1990s, and he asked us, “who’s your favorite character?” And I immediately said Nyneave. He was surprised no one said Rand. I honestly felt Rand was a bit bland through the early books, and then his character takes a dark turn and he becomes rather unlikeable for a while. But then I should talk about writing dark, hard-to-like protagonists! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

