This is My Genre Tell Me Yours – BookTAG

This is my second tag of 2017, thank you so much Blame It On Chocolate for tagging me! I love doing tags! Click over to her post and see what her chosen genre is 😀

But on to the tag itself, let’s begin with the rules:

  • Credit Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek as the creator of the tag (check out his blog while you’re at it, he writes some amazing stuff!), either use the created tag name graphic (can be found on his blog) or create your own and link back to my blog.
  • Answer the questions.
  • Tag as many people as you want.

And we can begin!


What’s your favourite genre?

Bildresultat för i love reading fantasy

Easy one – Fantasy. All the time, every day. Fantasy is almost everything I read and I have to say the best books I’ve read have definitely been fantasy.

Who’s your favourite author from the genre?

Patrick Rothfuss
Patrick Rothfuss

I have to chose just one? I think I’ll go with Patrick Rothfuss. What he did with the first two books in the Kingkiller Chronicles was amazing. They are two beautiful pieces of work. When an author makes you cry while reading their book you know it has been a good one. That happened with The Name of the Wind… it was one of the most emotional things I’ve ever read.

I cannot wait for the third book to come out (whenever that will be).

What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I think it definitely has something to do with the magic and the stories. The magic opens up a world of possibilities where almost anything can happen. Sometimes I just want to be somewhere other than this world we live in. The story in fantasy novels are usually grand, it is the fight between good and evil, right and wrong. I remember telling my teacher in junior high once, that I didn’t want to read about the problems usually taken up in teen books (boys, popularity etc.) (I am heavily generalising at the moment, no hate please), because I was fed up with my own teenage problems and I didn’t want to hear about fictional ones. Also, when reading about the most evil things taking over the world, boys and popularity didn’t seem that important.

What’s the book that started your love for your favourite genre?

Harry Potter och De Vises Sten

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. The Swedish edition. My dad read it to me when I was around 6 years old. I fell in love with it then and there. When I was about to turn 8 I read it for the first time myself. It was the first book I ever read voluntarily.

This series have meant so much to me over the years, and it still does. It has helped me understand myself and the world. It has taught me how to think, developed my values, and made me see the world the way I do. The love I have for this series is beyond anything I ever thought was possible.

And now I just want to reread it…

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

Oh this is a difficult one. Which book would I chose to turn someone into a fantasy reader? I think it depends very much on that person. Does she/he read romance, contemporary, Dragons of Autumn Twilightthriller, historical etc.? That would influence my choice very much. But if I have to chose one (and I can’t chose one already mentioned), I’d say Dragons of Autumn Twilight by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

This is very stereotypical high fantasy based on D&D. In other words, it is everything I love. Humans, elves, dwarves, dragons, gods… I have read this trilogy way too many times, cried multiple times while doing so, and fallen deeper and deeper in love with the characters. This trilogy is also sometimes considered a classic among fantasy readers. Read it.

Why do you read?

Why do I read? Sometimes to escape reality. Other times to make sense of it. Mostly it is to relax. To take a moment off, to not have to think about my own life – it is magic in itself. The stories I have been travelling through have been incredible and mind blowing. The people I’ve gotten to know, fallen in love with and cried for all have a place in my heart. They have made me a better person.

I read because I love it and what it does to me.


I Tag

Marie’s Library

How Useful It Is

Imagination in Print

My Parisian Bookshelf

RibbonReviews

Closet Readers


I loved this tag! Who wouldn’t want to talk about the books they love and the genre they always can trust in? So what is your Go-To genre and which book from that genre is your favourite?

20 thoughts on “This is My Genre Tell Me Yours – BookTAG

  1. Thank you for tagging (sorry that I am so late) I didn’t release that I was tagged in your post. I have actually already done this tag but I am tempted to do it again but for New Adult instead of fantasy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantasy, Yes! Yes! Yes! So cool to still see my tag doing the rounds on blogs and even better when the chosen genre is fantasy to!

    Great answers and a fun post to read. And Rothfuss is great, absolutely loved The Name of The Wind, a classic and while I had a few issues with the sequel Wise Man’s Fear (it dragged far too long in a couple of sections and Kvothe still hasn’t done much of what he proclaims to have done) it was still a top quality read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes! You described pretty much all my ~feels~ towards the genre… We’re definitely genre sisters hahaha ❤
    I've had The Name of the Wind on my shelf since I can remember… I guess I really, really need to read it now! But it's so big and intimidating, and apparently an awesome book. Maybe I'll wait for the series to be finished first, so I don't have to suffer through the wait xD
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Genre sisters, I love that^^
      Oh do not wait, just start reading The Name of the Wind right now! There is no publication date or the third one, but the books are so great no one should leave them be! Read them, fall in love, and then be patient. They are definitely worth it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Definitely a great reason to read! Very well written. I read for the same reason too 🙂 I’m currently re-reading the Harry Potter series.. It’s even better the second time around. How many times have you read the series? Thanks for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you^^ How many times I’ve reread the Harry Potter series…Oh my, not an easy question to answer. I’ve read the first Harry Potter book so many times that my Swedish edition broke. I am serious! The front cover fell off! My heart still hurts… Then I’ve read it once in English and once in Finnish as well. The last book I’ve only read about four times I think… I’m a bit crazy when it comes to the Harry Potter universe 😛 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. English, the British (original) version, since it was written that way. But then again, it all started with the Swedish edition so that one will always have a place in my heart.

        To read a book you’ve read a hundred times before in another language is very good language practice, since you basically know the story. I should reread it in Finnish (I desperately need to practice).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not really. I haven’t read the original enough times to be able to compare it to the Swedish translation, and my Finnish isn’t good enough for me to notice 😛 Maybe I should reread the first book three times in a row in different languages and check… 😛 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

