Shadow of the Forest

Shadow of the Forest

Shadow of the Forest by Emma Michaels

My Rating: 1 of 5 stars

Publication date: November 5th 2016

I got this beautiful book as an ARC through Xpresso Book Tours. It was…well, a disappointment.

This is a very short story, only about a 140 pages, and it still took me 2 weeks to read. My hopes were high, the synopsis made it sound really intriguing. I had hoped for a good, short read. What I got was a boring insight into the head of a boring girl.

This story could have been good, but the writing couldn’t bring it out. The writing is too philosophical, and I was often left confused. The writing style just didn’t explain a lot about what was going on, which was very frustrating in the first half of the book. Then the story became more stream lined, but sadly it couldn’t be saved.

Boring character + Writing not at all to my taste = Disaster

However, I did, and still do, like the cover very much! It is such a beautiful piece of art, and that was what first drew me to the book.


Everyone is dying to live in the Shadows of the Forest.

They gave me three rules to follow in exchange for my brother’s life:

  1. Do not enter the West Wing;
  2. Do not go outside after darkness falls; and
  3. There is only one exit; The Gates.

This is what happened when I broke them…

Goodreads

Goodreads | Amazon

6 thoughts on “Shadow of the Forest

Leave a Reply

