Second Hand Book Haul

So… I did what you shouldn’t do. I went to a second hand bookstore. I didn’t plan on buying anything, I just heard about it and wanted to check it out. So I went there, found the English section, and I was mesmerised. Books for only a couple of euros!

I did restrict myself, and they didn’t have much in the fantasy section (especially not first books in a series). But these are the books I bought:


Chocolat

Chocolat by Joanne Harris

Price: 2.50 €

I have seen this movie so many times, and I cannot get enough of it. It is a beautiful story, with a wonderful pacing. A woman arriving in a small French village and opening a chocolaterie. To do this during Lent is seen a a threat to the good population of the village, and her different view of the world something inappropriate. This story, at least the movie, has left me thinking. I really hope the book lives up to the movie.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Spike and Dru

Spike and Dru: Pretty Maids All in a Row by Christopher Golden

Price: 2 €

I love Buffy the Vampire Slayer! I have watched the whole series a few times! So when I saw this I had to have it. I didn’t even know books existed (I did know about the graphic novels though). I hope for a really bloody read where there are no vampires with souls. The Second World War was already a bloody mess, and now I want to read about Spike and Dru relishing in it. Jeez I feel morbid and not at all appropriate at the moment. World War II was one of the worst things to happen in human history.

the eight

The Eight by Katherine Neville

Price: 3 €

This is recommended for people who like The Da Vinci Code and I haven’t read it – but I want to. I like the story and have been thinking about picking up Dan Browns books for forever. But now I have this instead, a mystery with roots in 1790. This will be me branching out of my normal reading genre fantasy. That’s a good thing, I just hope it is good enough and won’t put me into a reading slump (which sadly is the danger when I read books from other genres).

Dark History of the Roman Emperors by Michael Kerrigan

Price: 10 €

This is the history nerd in me taking a stroll through my wallet. That and the synopsis of this book: “reveals the adultery, incest, profligacy, sadism and insanity of Rome’s 500-year empire“. If you don’t find that interesting I have to ask you why? (Or am I the weird one?) It is filled with full colour pictures which makes it very interesting. I wouldn’t have bought a book like this with just text, I’m not that interested. I really hope this read is as interesting as I imagine it to be!


Those are the books I bought, a total of 17 € (the cashier gave me a 50 cent discount). Now I will for sure put a book buying ban on myself. It is getting ridiculous! I don’t need to do another TBR Shame Tag, and I honestly want to read all my books on my shelves.

What have you recently bought?

8 thoughts on “Second Hand Book Haul

  1. Chocolat is on my TBR list! I’ve seen the movie, and it’s so good! We have a secondhand shop in my hometown that has all sorts of items. I usually take a trip there once a week to check out what books they’ve gotten in, and all the books are under $1! My TBR Shame List has grown considerably because of it, but I don’t mind as long as there is room on my shelf. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

