The Autumn Republic

20883847The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The conclusion to The Powder Mage Trilogy, oh what an ending. I am questioning how I will talk about this without spoilers, but I’ll do it!

The first book started with the beheading of the king, and the struggle to create a democracy out of the kingdom’s ruins. Easier said than done.

The second book continued the story in such a strong way at the same time as it put down the groundwork for the third book. There are enemies all around.

This book brought the story to a climax I didn’t anticipate and kept you on the edge of your seat until the end. When looking at my Goodreads notes all I see from the second half of the book is something along the lines of “HOW WILL EVERYTHING BE TIED UP AT THE END?!” McClellan didn’t give anything away.

The characters you’ve grown to love – Tamas, Taniel, Adamat, Ka-Poel, etc. – continue to grow on you throughout this book. They are what carry this story. Well written, strong, struggling. To see their journey felt like a privilege.

Before I finish this I once more have to mention the world – I’ve said it in my previous reviews – loved to see some amazing fantasy not set in medieval times. One of the best series I’ve read (listened to) in a long time.


The capital has fallen…

Field Marshal Tamas returns to his beloved country to find that for the first time in history, the capital city of Adro lies in the hands of a foreign invader. His son is missing, his allies are indistinguishable from his foes, and reinforcements are several weeks away.

An army divided…

With the Kez still bearing down upon them and without clear leadership, the Adran army has turned against itself. Inspector Adamat is drawn into the very heart of this new mutiny with promises of finding his kidnapped son.

All hope rests with one…

And Taniel Two-shot, hunted by men he once thought his friends, must safeguard the only chance Adro has of getting through this war without being destroyed…

THE AUTUMN REPUBLIC is the epic conclusion that began with Promise of Blood and The Crimson Campaign.”

Goodreads

Goodreads | BookDepository

6 thoughts on “The Autumn Republic

  1. Pingback: The Unique Blogger Award – A Very Fantasy Corner of Books

  2. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap Up – A Very Fantasy Corner of Books

  3. You’ve convinced me to check out this series – after reading your review of the first book, went to look on the description on audible and sounds really interesting, so have it on my wishlist and will be my next series read 🙂 also so happy to find another person who loves audio books as much as I do, they really are a great way to read books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! Pick the audiobook up as soon as possible. I’m amazed, sometimes Goodreads knows exactly what to recommend. Still don’t know what audiobook to pick up next. Going to have to go through my tbr list… Or do you have any recommendation?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been reading the Heartstrikers series by Rachel Aaron and can’t sing it’s praises enough! The narrator is amazing too, and it’s a great urban fantasy (which I don’t really read so I was surprised I like it so much) Last Dragons Finish Last is a bit slow but a great start to the series.

        Like

Leave a Reply

