The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

The Hundred Thousand KingdomsThe Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

After The Powder Mage Trilogy I have gotten used to audiobooks, and I looked through my tbr shelf to find a new one. This sounded interesting and I picked it up.

It was ok. Nothing more. I think the story would have stood better if I had read it as a hard copy instead of listened to it. Now I just had troubles keeping up and focus on the story. It jumped sometimes and I felt myself zoom out.

One of the really good things about this book is that it wraps up nicely at the end, so you can stop after the first one and feel satisfied. I also liked the diversity and how it dealt with racism and culture clashes.

Simply put, I’d recommend to read this instead of listening to it. I think it works better that way and you’d enjoy it more.


“Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle with a pair of cousins she never knew she had. As she fights for her life, she draws ever closer to the secrets of her mother’s death and her family’s bloody history.

With the fate of the world hanging in the balance, Yeine will learn how perilous it can be when love and hate – and gods and mortals – are bound inseparably together.”

– Goodreads

Goodreads | BookDepository

One thought on “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

Leave a Reply

