Of Fire and Stars

Of Fire and StarsOf Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a debut? We have a new amazing author to follow!

I think everyone has heard about this book, it fells like it’s been everywhere on BookTube and BookBlogs. The princess being betrothed to a prince but falling for his sister. But there is a lot more going on in these pages. Magic, mistrust & murder. It is the beginning to something bigger.

This book had flirted with me since it arrived from BookDepository, and the hours before I went home for Easter I picked it up and read the first few chapters. I was hooked! But I have so many other books I’m reading atm that I didn’t bring it with me during Easter. And now after, I just had to finish it!

This is a beautiful story about love and intrigue, the only things I had some minor issues with was some of the male characters, I would have wanted them to feel more multidimensional and not portrayed mainly as bad guys, and the ending. There Coulthurst only told us what had happened instead of putting us in the moment of it happening. (I read a blogpost about this not long ago and since then I’ve really started to notice it.)

The best thing was the two main characters, Denna and Mare. Two very strong women who’ve chosen very different paths even though they share origin. They both experience character development, much due to learning from each other. The best thing with them was that you got to see that not only the Katniss (The Hunger Games) / Celaenea (Throne of Glass) type of female is strong, but also the physically weaker can be as strong (and not only because of magic, even if that helps).

Anyway, the characters are relatable, the story interesting and the writing easy. If you feel in the mood for something like that, definitely pick this book up! It gets you hooked.


“Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.”

Goodreads

Goodreads | BookDepository

3 thoughts on “Of Fire and Stars

Leave a Reply

