Mid-Year Freak Out 2017

I did this last year and it feels like I should do it again, make it an annual thing 🙂 So let’s take a look at what I’ve read this far this year. It feels good, my Goodreads goal is 40 books and I’ve gone through 23 already. So no stress on that point.

If you’re interested in last year’s post, CLICK HERE.


Best book I’ve read so far in 2017

words of radiance

Words of Radiance (The Stormlight Archive #2) by Brandon Sanderson. This book blew my mind and I’m desperate for the third book! Sadly it hasn’t come out yet. What Sanderson has done with this book and this world is beyond anything I’ve previously read. This series will be a masterpiece that deserves to stand beside Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. If you’re not intimidated by big books and big stories, pick this up as soon as possible. If you are intimidated, give it a try anyway, you won’t regret it.

Read my review here.

 

Best sequel I’ve read so far in 2017

The Crimson Campaign

The Crimson Campaign (The Powder Mage Trilogy #2) by Brian McClellan. I went into this series not knowing what to expect, and I had my mind blown. When I got to the second book I couldn’t help but feel amazed, a second book that was even better than the first one? That shouldn’t happen, it’s against the natural law (in most cases is seems like that anyway).

The setting and the characters in this trilogy are well written and the story drags you in and won’t leave you alone. Didn’t expect to like this as much as I did. The audiobook narration is great so that is definitely an option if you don’t have the time to sit down and read.

Read my review here.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas. This was my first time seeing the cover, and I don’t like it. I get that it is different since it does follow another character, but they had beautiful covers on the other ones. Hopefully the spines match… #bookwormproblems

Tower of Dawn

Biggest disappointment

After having read The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert I wanted to read something similar and through NetGalley I got An Accident of Geography: Compassion, Innovation and the Fight Against Poverty by Richard C. Blum. It was to say the least a disappointment. The first, and this far the only, book I’ve had to DNF.

Biggest surprise

Jaeth's Eye

Jaeth’s Eye (The Agartes Epilogues, #1) by K.S. Villoso. I still dislike the cover quite a lot, but behind it is a beautiful story and I need to read the other two books in the trilogy soon, before I forget too much.

What Villoso really managed to do with this book was diversity. There are so many different countries and peoples and cultures. It really feels like a multicultural world. And hearing about how she created the world in her guest post was amazing.

Read my review here.

Favourite new author

Once again I chose tho think of this as a “new for me” author. And I have to say Brian McClellan. I need to read more of his stuff, especially if it is as good as The Powder Mage Trilogy.

Newest fictional crush

Rhysand. Not a question about it. Especially from A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thrones and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas. I think everyone fell for him when reading that book. Maas managed the spellbind a lot of women with that book I think 😛

Read my review here.

Newest favourite character

Relaterad bild

With this I have to go with Shallan Devar from The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson. I mentioned her in The High School Book Tag as well as the character I’d like to be for one day. She’s the strongest female character I’ve read in a while. And not YA strong (you know the stereotype I hope, Katniss-look-alike), but a multidimensional woman that feels real. Don’t get me wrong, I do like the YA strong women, but Shallan is a class of her own.

Book that made me cry

A Court of Wings and Ruin

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas. Yes, I did shed a tear or two at the end. Even if it wasn’t as gripping as the second book, I’d started to care so much for the characters that when the ending came I couldn’t help myself.

I did have some issues with the ending, but I get more into them in my review. It feels a bit weird having issues with and ending that impacted you so much you started to cry…

Read my review here.

Book that made me happy

Going for the guilty pleasure of the year here – The Academy: Introductions (The Ghost Bird #1) by C.L. Stone. Even though this story has some serious elements to it it’s just plain stupid most of the time. Still, I cannot stop reading it. It is perfect for when your brain won’t work. Don’t know what that says about my brain, since I’ve already finished two books in the series, and I’m almost done with the third.

Favourite book to film adaptation

Favourite post I’ve done this year

Author Guest Post: K.S. Villoso is definitely one of my favourites (even though I didn’t write it myself). Incredible that an author wrote that for me to put on my blog^^ Another one I like a lot is Why I read Fantasy.

Most beautiful book I’ve bought this year

Of Fire and Stars

Hopefully this book hasn’t gone unnoticed by anyone, Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. The princess being betrothed to a prince since childhood, but when travelling to the other kingdom to get married she falls for his sister. It’s a love story with so many struggles, and not only the ones concerning the princess falling for the princess instead of the prince. I do hope we will get more books following these characters. The story left the ending quite open, so hopefully this will transform into a beautiful series following the princess and her lover.

Read my review here.

New release I haven’t read yet but want to

Daughter of the Pirate King

Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1) by Tricia Levenseller. I got this in the second Magic Chest book box (Magic Chest Unboxing – Sailing Across the Sea) and still haven’t read it even though I looked forward to this book so much. Shame on me.

I will hopefully get to this book soon. I don’t have any good explanation to why I haven’t picked it up. Other books have been read instead and I started watching Pretty Little Liars. That together with work kind of doesn’t leave me with a lot of time. Priorities, Cassiopeia. Priorities.

What book I need to read by the end of the year

 

Just to name a few:


And that’s it! The mid-year freak out! I feel quite good at the same time I feel a bit bad. It’s weird. I’ve done quite well at the same time as I have so many books waiting for me! Well, half a year to go.

What’s your favourite book this year?
What do you still want to read in 2017?

11 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out 2017

  1. Wowie! 23 books? That’s super impressive, especially since many of the ones listed in your post are over 300 pages long! The Agartes Epilogue series has been under my radar for quite some time. Likewise, the cover isn’t all that appealing, but given what you have to say about it, I just may have to add it to my ever-increasing TBR soon and give it a go!
    OO you’re right – the Of Fire and Starts cover is absolutely enchanting!
    My favorite book this year so far has, hands down been The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – such a delightful book, have you read it? I literally recommend it to anyone and everyone.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I have to say that listening to audiobooks really helps a lot. Suddenly I can just fly through books even though I need to clean/go food shopping/sit in the bus.

      You should definitely give Jaeth’s Eye a go. It is not a beautiful book, but what hides under the cover is beautiful.

      I’ve never heard ov The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, I’ll have to look it up.

      Happy reading to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: AWARD: Versatile Blogger #2 « This Is My Truth Now

  3. I can’t wait to read Tower of Dawn!! I hope it’s amazing, but I have my doubts… Really hope you enjoy Daughter of the Pirate King, of course ❤ That one's a keeper, in my opinion.
    I'm more curious than ever about Brandon Sanderson and the ACOTAR series!
    Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh I have to get back to reading the Throne of Glass series. I read the first book, heard the rest get a little odd and haven’t wanted to read it since. I need to really finish the Riyra Revelations but I just finished the second book in that one and it’s taking me so long to finish, which is odd cuz I like the series, it’s just such a slog to read through XD

    The next book in the Heartstrikers series is coming out this month, so honestly I’m going to drop everything to read that when it’s released. I really want to start the Powder Mage trilogy, I’ve heard so many things about that from so many people! I’m half way through my reading goals this year too but have slacked the past few months and really want to get to 30 books by the end of the year.

    Like

    1. I love Throne of Glass! Queen of Shadows was amazing (even though there were a few things I didn’t really like) and I have high hopes for the last few books of this series. ToG is a lot more up my alley than ACOTAR.

      I haven’t heard about the Riyra Revelations, will have to check it on Goodreads.

      You have to start the Powder Mage Trilogy! Oh I need to reread it. I’m seriously considering buying the books (I just listened to it on audiobook when I “read” it).

      Great with your Goodreads goal (Y) I have also slacked these last few months. January-Febryary were really good for me and since then it just feels like my reading has slowed down so much. I really want to get back to it. Well, we’ll just have to keep fighting until the end 💪

      Like

  5. I didn’t realize Buffy came from a book? I watched the TV shows long ago 🙂 Did you liked Of Fire and Stars? I like the cover of that book too! Best of luck for the rest of the year!

    Like

    1. Oh no, it’s the other way around. When Buffy ended books and comics continued the story 🙂 I love the TV show, seen it at least 4 times all the way through.

      I loved Of Fire and Stars! It was so fun and the characters so enjoyable! You should pick it up, you will fly through it 😀

      Best luck for you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

