Book Recommendation – Water

It has been way too long since I did a themed recommendations post, the last one about dragons was back in August (almost a year ago!). This time around I chose water as the theme, and I hope you’ll enjoy these five books I’ve picked out.


Narnia - Voyage of the Dawn TreaderVoyage of the Dawn Treader (Chronicles of Narnia chronological order #5) by C.S. Lewis

This is a classic. I do hope all of you at least have read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, if not the whole series. If not, you know what your next book will be 😉

Voyage of the Dawn Treader is the third return to the land of Narnia for the Pevensie children. This time with some new tag-alongs. They meet some old friends and make some new ones on an adventure far away from safe land. Together with the reader they will see a part of Narnia never seen before, and they will reach places you couldn’t even dream about. The ocean is wast, and The Dawn Treader will take them across it.

A Wizard of EarthseaA Wizard of Earthsea (Earthsea Cycle #1) by Ursula K. Le Guin

This I got recommended to me so many times before I picked it up. It is one of the classics when it comes to fantasy. I gave it 3 stars.

Ursula K. Le Guin is a master at telling a full story with very few words. Even though this the only book I’ve read of hers, I can say that much. In only 200 pages she creates a world and fills it with characters and story. Sadly it didn’t grip me as much as I would have liked, but never the less, I am glad I read it and hope a lot more people will too.

How to be a PirateHow to Be a Pirate (How to Train Your Dragon #2) by Cressida Cowell

I have mentioned the How to Train Your Dragon series so many times it feels like, but it is just brilliant! These books are one of the few that can make me laugh out loud. Well written, great characters and a story that is just crazy. I’ve said it before and I say it again, the books are nothing like the movies.

If you want to follow the making of history’s finest Viking hero, dive into these books. A Viking hero is not born, but made, and the making is not a dance on roses.

Elder Gods The DreamersThe Elder Gods (The Dreamers #2) by David and Leigh Eddings

Another classic. Eddings is a name that should sound a bell for every fantasy reader. I still haven’t read his earlier work, but I’ll get to that at some point. I know everyone loves his earlier works a lot more than these newer ones, but I love these new ones. They are nostalgia for me and what brought me into epic fantasy.

This first book has a lot to do with water, especially since one of the gods live beneath the surface. She also said one of the cleverest things I’ve ever heard, something along the lines of why does it matter how much water is beneath her (while swimming)? (I love to swim ❤ )

Percy Jackson The Lightning ThiefThe Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

How could I not mention this? Percy Jackson has become somewhat of a phenomena and sadly I have only read the first book about him. But if you somehow haven’t heard about this one I won’t spoil anything, but water plays quite a big part in this book. You just need to know that Rick Riordan has a whole generation spellbound with his books.

If you have read it on the other hand, you know exactly what I’m talking about and I can only hope you also like it. I gave it only a three star rating but that’s mainly due to me probably expecting too much of it because of the hype. It still is a middle-grade (which I didn’t know when reading it, stupid me).


Have you read any of these? What did you think of them?
Or do you have any watery recommendations of your own?


Previous Recommendations

Assassins | Dragons

Leave a Reply

